Goodbyes

Saying Goodbye

“I don’t care if it’s a sad good-by or a bad good-by, but when I leave a place I like to know I’m leaving it.” -The Catcher in the Rye

Saying goodbye is something that almost everyone struggles with. Whether it’s saying goodbye to a person, a place, or even a pet, goodbyes are difficult. For some people, saying goodbye is a way that they get closure, since they know that they are leaving the thing that they are saying goodbye to. Other people would rather not say goodbye because if they don’t say bye then maybe they never really left…? The boy in the book, The Catcher in the Rye, stated that it doesn’t matter to him whether it’s a sad goodbye or a bad goodbye because he still wants to be able to have the closure of knowing he is leaving a place.

One of the hardest things that people have to say goodbye to are people. Whether a family member or friend passed away or is just moving away, having to say goodbye to them is absolutely horrible, but it gives people closure knowing that they had a chance to say goodbye. Not very long ago, two of my uncles passed away unexpectedly. I wasn’t able to say goodbye to either of them because one day they were doing just fine and the next day everything went down hill. I still wished that I had the chance to simply be able to say goodbye. I feel as if not saying bye to them has made it even harder for me to comprehend that they are gone. I know that I’m not the only one that feels this way and that’s why I agree with the quote above from The Catcher in the Rye.

The other day I was watching a show called, The Long Island Medium (It’s a show about a medium who helps people who have lost someone get closure) and I noticed that most of the people that she was talking to about a family member or friend that had passed away all just wanted to be able to say goodbye. That’s why I believe that schools have promotions/graduations. I think that it’s a way for the students to be able to say a final goodbye to a place that has been like their second home for over a couple of years and to some of the people that they met over the years that may not be attending the same middle school, high school, or college as them. Overall, it’s crazy to think that something so little could bring so much peace and closure to someone.

 

Leave a Reply

