Mystery

TV Tropes: Mystery & Crime

“Mystery creates wonder and wonder is the basis of man’s desire to understand.” -Neil Armstrong

Ever since I was a little kid, I have always loved to solve mysteries. In order to solve a mystery, you have to open up your mind to all possibilities. To me, solving a mystery is more than just finding the answer to an unsolved question. If you decode a mystery, you could discover something that leads to a whole new understanding of a situation. As a kid, I loved to ask questions. If I didn’t know the answer to something, I would figure it out. This explains why my absolute favorite show when I was growing up was “Scooby-Doo”. I would watch this show every time that I was allowed to watch TV. I loved trying to solve the mystery in each show before they would reveal the criminal.

Now that I’m a lot older, one of my favorite shows is “Criminal Minds”. I love this show because it’s almost like an older/more mature version of “Scooby-Doo”. Criminal Minds is a show that really makes you pay attention to the little details. One of the main reasons why I love watching mystery shows is because of the way you can be engaged in the show. Mystery shows are one of the few genres of TV shows and movies that give you a chance to interact with the show. Instead of just sitting and watching a reality show, you could be solving the mystery of who committed the crime at the same time that the characters are solving it. Another one of my favorite mystery TV shows is “Castle”. This show is less about the criminal side of things and more about the underlying causes of the crime.

I recently watched the movie, “The Girl on the Train”. Some people don’t like this movie because of the way the story is portrayed. The whole movie is a mystery with many parts that don’t all come together until the very end. I think this is the exact reason why I really enjoyed this movie. Throughout the entire movie I was making conclusions about who committed the crime and who was guilty, which made the movie a lot more enjoyable. Another reason why I think I liked this movie more than other people is due to the way it was written. I like the kind of style that this movie was written in because it’s all about the unknown. Every event throughout the movie connected with an even bigger event. At the end of the movie, each scene had something to do with the ending result, which was very unpredictable.

One thing that I really enjoy doing is going through escape rooms. An escape room is a room with a bunch of different clues that you have to figure out in order to be able to get out of the room. I have now been through two of these rooms with a couple of my friends and they are so much fun. You have 60 minutes to solve about 10 clues. Once you figure out one clue, it leads you to the next one. The whole thing is basically a big mystery that you are trying to solve.

Overall, mystery shows and movies have been my favorite since I was very young. I love the thrill and excitement that you feel while watching a mystery show, such as the ones that I mentioned above. I also love that mystery shows keep you on your toes because you aren’t sure about what is going to happen next. I am typically a person that likes to know everything that is happening. For example, I like to have an itinerary of what all I am doing when going on vacation, so I find it kind of odd that I enjoy watching shows and movies where you have no clue what the next scene is going to reveal. I do believe that part of the whole reason why I love mystery based shows is because they are the opposite of what I am used to. These kind of movies and shows bring me out of my comfort zone, and that’s why they’re my favorite genre.

 

5 thoughts on “TV Tropes: Mystery & Crime

  1. I love Criminal Minds. Using the television programs through childhood till now, I am impressed on how you took the word “mystery” to a whole new level. A room where you’re trapped is something that has that ONE thing in that room that could unlock your way out. You did a great job on describing what HAPPENS in a mystery not just the trope itself.

    Like

  2. I totally agree with you, i loved mysteries as a child until now. As a child I would go to the mystery aisle in the library and check out the books. I also really like Criminal Minds because it’s very interesting and you wouldn’t get tired of watching it. I always wanted to try an escape room , however there are some of the really scary or horror ones that I think that I can’t handle but I really wanna go try an escape room with my family and friends. I really like your blog post about mysteries and crime! Thanks for posting this blog, It’s done very nicely.

    Like

  3. I also think it is really interesting that you are such an organized person that likes to know what’s happening but you still like mysteries. Scooby Doo was also one of my favorite TV cartoons when I was a little girl! I have never try Criminal Minds but that might just have to be my new Netflix series I watch. The show sounds super interesting and I think it is one that would grasp my attention. What escape room did you go to and how hard was it? When I went it was super fun! Great job on your blog post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve always been interested in mystery themed movies. The story lines’ are usually very interesting and they really make you think about the plot and figure out what is going on based on foreshadowing and clues give throughout the films.

    Like

  5. I love this blog post because I too am super interested in any mystery or crime show and I get so hooked on these types of shows. I just have to know not only who did it, but why! That’s so rad that you tried an escape room, I have been wanting to for the longest time. Thank you for sharing your experience and a new show for me to look into. Great blog post, Jos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

